What is Tequila: Types, Categories & Top Brand Names

What is tequila?

Tequila is a Mexican liquor distilled from the fermented juice of blue-green agave Tequilana Weber. It is known as maguey or blue mezcal in Mexico.

It must come from the area surrounding Tequila, which is about 65km northwest of Guadalajara in the state of Jalisco, Mexico, and very limited areas in the states of Guanajuato, Nayarit, and Tamaulipas.

A quality tequila is distilled from 100 percent agave, but Mexican law permits distillers to mix other sugars, such as corn sugar, with agave to a maximum limit of 49 percent during fermentation. Mostly, it is bottled at 37 to 40 percent abv.

Types of Tequila

  1. Mixto: This tequila is distilled from a wash obtained from a minimum of 51 percent agave tequilana sugar and a maximum of 49 percent other sugar.
  2. 100 percent agave: This tequila has 100 percent distillate from agave Tequilana Weber.

Categories of Tequila

  1. Joven abogado
  2. Blanco
  3. Reposado (rested)
  4. Añejo (aged)
  5. Extra añejo (extra aged)
  6. Oro (gold)

Top Brand Names of Tequila

  • Agavero
  • Herradura
  • Montezuma
  • Sauza
  • Cabo webo
  • Jose Cuervo
  • Partida
  • Chinaco
  • Gran Centenario
  • Milagro
  • Patron
Dipayan Mondal
Dipayan Mondal

Dipayan is the author of this blog. He completed his hotel management degree from GNIHM, Kolkata. And he is very passionate about the hospitality industry. And right now, he is working as a successful hotelier in a 5-star hotel.

One comment

  1. Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!

    It is the little changes that make the largest changes.
    Many thanks for sharing!

Comments are closed.